Prime Minister Marape Decommissions Four Ministers for Absence In Cabinet Meeting

Wednesday 29 May 2024

Prime Minister Hon. James Marape, and his team Members in Parliament yesterday.

Prime Minister Hon. James Marape,  decommissioned Higher Education Minister Don Polye, Housing Minister Kobby Bomareo, Energy Minister Robert Naguri, and Tourism Minister Isi Henry Leonard on Monday, 27 May  2024, following their absence  at a Cabinet meeting on Loloata Island.

This follows Sunday’s decommissioning of Finance Minister Rainbo Paita for being ringleader of Saturday night’s exodus of 18 Government MPs.

 “I allow all ministers full autonomy to work their respective portfolios, however, instead of working for our people, they play politics,” Prime Minister Marape said.

“Our country has been plagued by leaders playing so much politics at all turns and not working to deliver to our country.

 “Our country is not run by one person in the prime minister, but by a body of Cabinet members comprising of ministers, deputy prime minister and prime minister.

 “I am sad to let the leaders go but they chose to abscond from their portfolio duties and engage in politics in the face of a vote-of-no-confidence.

 “We have enough talent in Parliament to draw on for new ministers and I look forward to put together a constructive Cabinet,” Mr Marape added.

Leave a Comment